10/11 Acres with 15-20% Grade?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by xRUSTYx, May 14, 2013.

1. xRUSTYx

xRUSTYx LawnSite Member

Hey Guys ...

First post, but I've been a lurker for quite a while. First ~ I'm relatively new to the lawn care business. Currently do it part time and have a whopping 8 accounts and they all happen to be in my subdivision and the subdivision next door :clapping:

I had no intentions of doing other people's lawn, but people saw the time & effort I put in to my own ~ and ask that I do theirs. All lots are roughly 11,000 sq ft or so. So, I currently am running just a residential 42" JD ZTR and get them all done on Saturdays.

I have no real desire to make this a full time gig, as I'm quite happy with my day job. With that said ~ it be nice to fall back on should the job get terminated.

Question:
    So .... On to my question! We just bought 15+ acres. Roughly 10-11 acres of this is grass/pasture with a 15-20% grade. My JD isn't going to cut it, and I'd like to go ahead and upgrade to something that you think can take care of the job. I'd cut it probably about once every 3-4 weeks, and use the new commercial mower on my part time gig as well!

I'll likely end up with a front loader to take care of other things, but I want a good finished cut with a ZTR or Stand Up.

What would your recommendations be (Brand, HP, etc...). I'm open to just about everything!

Currently ~ The acreage gets bush hogged every 2-3 months for $400 because I don't have the means of cutting it myself :)

Some pictures of the property

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. gcbailey

gcbailey LawnSite Silver Member
    from WV

personally I'd go with a sub-compact tractor like a Kubota BX or JD 1 series... Maybe even a Kubota B or JD 3000 series...

3. ztman

ztman LawnSite Bronze Member