100+ customers?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by JBlawn, Oct 23, 2009.

1. JBlawn

JBlawn LawnSite Member
    from ohio

ok i have just got the results back from my test and passed:) i have been doing landscaping and mowing for 4 years and want to start consitrating on fertilizing and the landscaping part.. i was wondering how long after you guys started did it take you to reach 100+ customers and what kind of andvertising you did?? i should be able to obtain 20 of my mowing customers and 7 cemetarys that we take care of... i was planning on sending out 2500-5000 post cards. newspaper advertising..
  2. sedge

sedge LawnSite Fanatic

no good. door hangers and lots of them
  3. JBlawn

JBlawn LawnSite Member
    from ohio

so post cards dont work as good?
  4. milsaps118

milsaps118 LawnSite Senior Member

IMHO postcards and direct mail SUCK. I have done it the last 3 seasons and will never spend that kind of money on advertising again. The response rate was low and the closing rate was even lower.

I have never tried door-to-door hangers, but have heard good things about it from others here.

Good luck.
  5. RigglePLC

RigglePLC LawnSite Fanatic

I agree with Milsap, The Cloverleaf Plan is good. You drop a brochure at the house to the left of your customer... and the right... and the two neighbors across the street. Or get your kid or a highschooler to do this. You spray the lawn. They distribute brochures on that street. Five minutes up the street--and five minutes coming back on the other side of the street. On the the next customer. Five dollars extra if he convinces someone to accept a lawn analysis and price quotation.
  6. rcreech

rcreech Sponsor
    Male, from OHIO

Clover leafing does work...but I have also had excellent success with post cards.

It takes some good timing (spring), know WHO you are trying to target and you are good to go.

It takes a lot of them...but if you can get 1-2+% that is awesome!