1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

$11 lawns

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Chip, Apr 20, 2001.

1. Chip

Chip LawnSite Member

Today I went to give an estimate for a neighbor of an existing customer. It is a small property 5000 sq ft minus house and drive. I told the lady $20 my minimum charge. She said the guy who cut it last year only charge $11. I told her I wouldn't even try to compete with that price. She thought the other guy was cheap. I have been cutting lawns on that street for 12 years and started out at $15 I have 5 other lawns on the street the other guy has only one.
    After talking to the lady for a while she told me who the other guy was. I know him to see he lives a block and a half away from me. Him and his son each have a truck trailer and newer equipment. I feel like smacking this guy in the head and telling him he is an idiot for charging so cheap. On the other hand I could sub lawns out to him and make good money for doing nothing. I could also tell him what he should be charging and tell him about lawnsite to educate the jerk. What would you do?
  2. Greenkeepers

Greenkeepers LawnSite Senior Member
    from NE Ohio

You did your part, now pick up and move on. It's not worth stooping to his level...
  3. Charles

Charles Moderator Staff Member

On the other hand i dont see how you make a living with only 20$ mininum charge. 20$ x 28% (income tax) leaves you with $14.40 - fuel and other expenses. I know we have write offs but they are only 5 cents on a dollar
  4. ronslawncare

ronslawncare LawnSite Senior Member