1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

12 year old LOW BALLING

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by wagil, Jun 28, 2013.

Whats the minimum average charge in your area.

1. 10

1 vote(s)
  2. 20

8 vote(s)
  3. 25

16 vote(s)
  4. 30

16 vote(s)
  5. 35

19 vote(s)
  6. 40

8 vote(s)
  1. wagil

wagil LawnSite Member

I just got home, and was checking the mail box for mail. It was early in the day and the mail lady hadn't made it down our street yet. But what I did find was a flyer. XYZ Mowing Service. The letter reads as follows.

I am a 12 year old kid trying to earn extra money. I have been mowing yards for the past four years.

I am offering a package deal to mow and trim an average yard for $10 Any size bigger or smaller we can discuss price.

thank you.

Now in my area $30 is just about what it takes to off load the trailer. I'm tempted to take him up on it.
  2. poncho62

poncho62 LawnSite Member

Industrious kid.....a bit naive though.....I am sure he will learn quickly that $10 a crack is way too cheap and he will slack off and get canned.......Of course at $10, you wouldnt mind a crappy job
  3. Tom-N-Texas

Tom-N-Texas LawnSite Senior Member

I don't know if you should take him up on it or not but he's got no bills and no overhead so $10 is probably just fine to him. I say more power to him. Capitalism (free market) at its finest. I think I mowed my first lawns for about the same price when I was his age. Granted that was back in the 80s.
    Posted via Mobile Device
  4. Marshmallow

Marshmallow LawnSite Senior Member
    from IL

He can't be making much at that rate. I would hire him!
  5. Jimslawncareservice

Jimslawncareservice LawnSite Platinum Member
    from mn