1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

14 lawns

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by sowstrong, Jul 30, 2005.

1. sowstrong

sowstrong LawnSite Member
    from Georgia

Well, two days ago I was working for my friend. I am pretty new to commercial lawn mowing but I have caught on pretty quick. In a 7-8 hour work day we cut 14 lawns with a three man crew. Now, personally, I thought that was horrible. If I was running the show I think I could have gotten at least 17 that day. My boss runs a 36" scag w/b, his other worker mows with a 21" honda, and I weed-eat and edge. We all get done right around the same time. I am still getting more effecient at weed-eating so I am able to blow off more.
    I was wondering what I could advise my friend to do so that he can get more productivity. Most of our yards 1/2-3/4 acres nothing too big. I was wondering if upgrading to a 32" hydro instead of the 21 would help. Do you think a trimmer with an edgit would save some time instead of switching between a stick edger and a trimmer?
    I plan on starting my own lawn business next season with working with him on the side. I know I can run a better sevice than him- I just don't have the experience yet- that is why I am going to work with him and do side jobs a couple of days a week.
    My last question is about how much he should pay me if I take his rig out 3 days a week and cut lawns. I think I can cut anywhere between 10-13 lawns in a day by myself. I was thinking that 20-25 an hour would be good. If I cut 1.5 yards and hour @ 30 each after subtracting employee cost and other fees he should be making at least 10 bucks an hour and not have to even be there. So what are you guys thoughts in all this?
  2. lawnman_scott

lawnman_scott LawnSite Fanatic