15 Kawasaki - need advice on problem.

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by Jason Pallas, Jul 17, 2005.

1. Jason Pallas

Jason Pallas LawnSite Bronze Member

Has anyone else experienced a "miss" with their 15 hp Kawasaki twin. It seems like every so often, we'll get one that seems to develop a slight misfire. It usually passes within a few minutes - but I have seen it last for 10 -15 minutes. It seems like either an ignition problem or a fuel delivery problem. We tried putting a higher temp spark plug in them and that seemed to work for a while (thought we had it solved - but then we starting seeing the problem again last week - may have been heat related as it was above 95 every day). Please share any similar experiences with me / possible rememedies. I'm a pretty damm good mechanic - but before I really delve into this one, I'd like to get some other input/experience (in case this is a common prob that I haven't heard of). Thanks in advance to all my buds in the mechanic forum.

2. Restrorob

Restrorob LawnSite Fanatic

A sure fire test (lol) would be to catch the engine when it's acting up and throw a spark tester on the plugs, This will tell you if it is infact a ignition coil acting up. That would be my guess, Then when the problem is solved go back to the factory specified heat range plug.

3. sildoc

sildoc LawnSite Silver Member

I have had a mis on my kawi 15 hp several times. I do not belive it was an actual mis but dieseling of the mower. ever time was 100 + degrees and I belive the fuel was near gas state as it entered the carb. You will notice it sputter when you turn it off.

4. PTP

PTP LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Tulsa

If this is in fact the case, try using higher octane fuel. This will solve the problem. The higher octane does not detonate (what you called "dieseling") as easily.

5. Jason Pallas

Jason Pallas LawnSite Bronze Member