1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

15HP Kaw on Exmark Turf Tracer

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by MDLawnman, Dec 20, 2005.

1. MDLawnman

MDLawnman LawnSite Member

Toward the end of the mowing season, this engine would smoke (white smoke) for about a minute on mostly the first startup of the day. Other times it would smoke in the afternoon after doing 4-5 yards. It will idle and run fine after that. I've noticed now that there is oil in the air filter box on the front of the motor. About a tablespoons worth. I'm not a mechanic and a search of this forum hasn't turned up any similar posts. Can someone give me an idea of what the problem may be?
    The mower is well used (no hour meter) but is also well maintained which means daily maintenance checks (oil, grease, air, etc). The engine is a manual start, hydro unit, 48" cut. Thanks for your input. Have a great Holiday!!
  2. lawnmaniac883

lawnmaniac883 LawnSite Silver Member

White smoke=water. Check the fuel tank/hoses/caps be sure they are all in good condition and not allowing any water in to the carb. If all looks good, drain tank and refill with fresh fuel straight from the pump. Hope this helps.
  3. MDLawnman

Thanks lawnmaniac!
  4. jtkplc

jtkplc LawnSite Silver Member

I have the exact same problem with my 15HP Kawasaki. I only noticed the smoke when it started turning cooler in the fall. I also have oil on my paper air filter. Did the suggestions lawnmaniac883 say work?
  5. MDLawnman

Yes & no. I've used fresh gasoline to reduce the amount of smoke, but I still have no idea why there is oil in the air intake/filter area.
  6. viper00085

viper00085 LawnSite Member
    from NC/VA