16 and starting out, NEED help from experienced!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by milk, Mar 19, 2006.

1. milk

milk LawnSite Member

Hey everyone, i'm 16 years old and i'm just starting out in the lawn business. I'm hoping to set up a business in my neighborhood by passing out fliers, and going door to door. I'm going to be mowing lawns every week per client, and fertilizing and insect control every 2 months per client. I have a few questions however.

My first questions is about pricing. I live in a upper middle class neighborhood, and the front and backyards probably take 20 minutes to do each one ( I have a self propelled mower) , maybe a little less. I was thinking about $20 a week per lawn I mow, as $20 is a solid price, and its less than what the professional lawn services charge. Is this too much? too small? And for fertilizer and insect control, i'll be doing that every two months, so I was thinking about charging $18 for that? Too much? Too little? I'm new to the game, so I don't know how the pricing works. By the way, how much do the professional lawn services charge? Also, is it best to collect money after every time you cut/ fertilizer etc, or is best to do it say once a month? Should I make them sign a contract binding them to my services, or would that be too excessive?

Another question I had was about how to advertise. I was thinking about just making some creative, but professional fliers, and going door to door and telling them what I will do, etc? What is the best way to do this/ put on your fliers, so that people will trust you, and want to hire you?

I also had a question about fertilizing, mowing, and insect control. I know mowing once a week is the norm, but am I right about fertilizer and insect control? Every 2 months? What is the best way to apply the fertilizer and insect control? I heard that putting the fertilizer down first, and then the insect control a week later is the best option.