19 HP Kawasaki KAI engine

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Trajan3, Mar 15, 2007.

1. Trajan3

Trajan3 LawnSite Member

I am really new to the business and I am just purchasing my commercial equipment. I have looked at Exmark, Toro Commercial, Scag and Hustler. The Scag Tiger Cub seems to be the most durable in my price range and the next is the exmark Lazer HP. (I like the all steel greasable spindles of the Scag). Both have a 19 hp kawasaki. I am moving up from residential equipment I have used in the past. My question is does a Kawasaki 19hp KAI engine have enough power to handle most mowing situations? All of my current accounts are residential and one is 2 acres with lots of trees, leaves, and rolling uneven terrain. Until now, I have been using a residential MTD 16.5 hp Briggs single cylinder (no jokes please) and a decent 21", 6.75 hp Craftsman self propelled with bagger. I just don't want to make a mistake and buy something that won't cut quickly, smoothly and mulch grass and leaves. 19 isn't much higher than 16.5. The dealer says "don't be fooled by the HP number on the engine." Will the 19 hp be able to run through Tifway 419 bermuda and leave a golf course fairway look? Any opinions are greatly appreciated.

2. Lynden-Jeff

Lynden-Jeff LawnSite Bronze Member

I have a 19 HP big block kawi on my zt-219 and its great. Sips gas and has enough power to cut grass up to 6 inchs at full speed. High grass you will need to slow down however even up to a foot it won't bog down to bad. If you do all weekly accounts you should be fine, if your mowing overgrown fields a little more HP might be good.

Also Scag>Exmark IMO. I went with bobcat over exmark and scag for the following reasons. When I went to the exmark that tried to sell me a POS Phazer for $10300. The lazer HP with a 19 HP was $11999. I almost went with a scag tiger cub but it was $1000 more then my ZT-219 which is a full size Z. I got it for $9300!

Cheers
    jeff

3. Lazer_Z