1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

19yr old with new Lawn buisness, growing and growing..

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by bigjeeping, Aug 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bigjeeping

bigjeeping LawnSite Senior Member

This is my first year mowing lawns and I've aqquired 60 residential accounts soley by handing out flyers door-to-door and putting them on mail boxes. Before expenses I bring in about $5,700 a month. I send out itemized bills at the end of each month. I don't have any contracts or anything for my clients to sign. I don't have ANY insurance whatsover. So far I'm 3 months in, and haven't had any significant problems. I have 1 team, consisting of myself and one other worker. I put in about 25-30 hours a week of mowing, plus regular maintainence on the machines which I do myself. Besides my trailer I bought all my equipment at lowes. To get started with equipment.. here's what I have: I bought a 12x6 single axle trailer, Z4217 42" husqvarna mower (YES I NOW KNOW ITS NOT COMMERCIAL GRADE AND I PLAN ON SELLING IT NEXT SPRING), 2 cub cadet push mowers, husqvarna trimmer and 125BT blower, and a bolens edger. The equipment is holding up fine, however I wouldn't purchase a non-commercial ZTR mower EVER AGAIN. I am planning on selling mine and replacing it with something of commercial grade for next year's mowing season. Anyway.. I have 60 clients and I am hoping to double, if not tripple that number for residential accounts next summer.. possibly expanding to 2 teams. I just made a huge decision and I'm not sure if it will be good or bad.. I got into the yellow book for plowing and lawn care. I currently own a V10 F-250 SUPER DUTY with a 7.5 WESTERN plow, and I am most likely going to purchase another plow truck (I am assuming that t