1st commercial bid.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Rhinox29, Oct 29, 2005.

1. Rhinox29

Rhinox29 LawnSite Member

I am just starting out in the business and have been reading this site for a while. It has been a big help to me since I am just getting started. Here is my question. My son just moved into his newely completed school. I was helping them move with my lawn service trailer and the principle saw my signs on the trailer. She ask me if I wanted to bid on servicing the property. Of course I said sure. This would be my biggest gig yet. It is 2 1/2 acres of grass needing mowed and trimmed. It has no trees and all flat except for around a retention pond. I am not sure how much to charge? She is excepting 3 bids and I really would like to nail this one down. As I said I am just starting out and I do not have alot of equipment. We have a 42 inch mtd rider we use and a 22 inch craftsmen push mower plus trimmer and blower. It would be my dad and myself. I Know this is not much to work with equipment wise. But I wanted to have some work to create money before I purchased the good stuff. I thank you for any help you pros could give me on getting this bid. Sorry so long..
    Oh and yes we are insured and licensed.

2. Fantasy Lawns

Fantasy Lawns LawnSite Bronze Member

I do both county & state work .... I too cut a small school which the county uses to house foster children before they are adopted

They should or will at one point ask fore WC ..... if you inc or llc you can get an officer exempt .... so no real big deal ... but the cost on general employees will be bout $8.76 per $100 of payroll .... general liability requirement's .... at least here in Brevard is $1M & proof of commercial vehicle insurance

If you are going to fert no big deal BUT if includes pest .... your gonna have to show the paper work .... again .... no big deal as I just sub this work out anywho