1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

1st Flyer. Please criticize

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by JMcDaniel, Feb 28, 2003.

1. JMcDaniel

JMcDaniel LawnSite Member

Hello everyone,

This will be my first year of doing lawn service. I have a couple of years experience working for someone else in this field, so I know what to expect workwise. However, I am a full time college student and although I already own all the equipment I need, I don't have too much set aside for advertising. I plan to run an ad in the business section of my local paper all summer starting next week, send out letters to small business owners and put out flyers. Of course I will be trying to get business one on one also. I think that will be the most effective.

Heres the deal. Not too much money left to spend on flyers right now, so I want the one I put out to be effective. Here is my first try. Any suggestions? Thanks!

Oh yeah, I know the logo is too far down on this image, but that happened when I converted it to a smaller file. On the full size page it looks right.

2. PRapoza451

PRapoza451 LawnSite Member

Make sure you run your spell checker. I noticed a couple of errors. When I read an ad that is misspelled I immediately have a negative impression. Just my pet peeve. We occasionally send out stuff that is misspelled, nobody's perfect, but it is very rare.