1st. thread How much to mulch?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by harleysville7, Sep 17, 2009.

1. harleysville7

harleysville7 LawnSite Member

I am new to this forum and just starting to get into commercial mowing.

I own another service company and have an opportunity to bid on (4) very large commercial cutting jobs. They are all apartment communities.

The largest being approx. 60 acres.

I know what I need to charge for the cutting but all of the other items such as fall clean-up, spring clean-up and especially the mulching. I have no clue as to the going rate.

There are over 250 trees and every unit has a mulch bed outside there door.

How do you guys charge for mulching?

2. richardb200373

richardb200373 LawnSite Member

I am a small landscaper in Northern VA. As a general rule of thumb, I figure on at least $10 per yard of mulch for labor, plus the cost of mulch of course. Depending on the terrain and how close I can get the mulch dumped, I will add on more for difficult areas. On average, I can move about 3 yards of mulch per hour per man, this is with wheel barrows and shoveling it in with pitch forks. I don't have much equipment or a big truck, so I'm limited in some areas. I know that I'm probably under charging, but I try to make myself at least 20 per hour. Just my 2 cents, maybe I'm way off.

3. harleysville7

Would you charge per tree for the mulching?

4. punt66

punt66 LawnSite Fanatic

He is way off! I get $75yd delivered and installed for mulch. Since you have a large job you can discount it a bit. As far as the leaves go, you need to break it down in areas and go from there. Do you need to remove the leaves?

5. punt66

punt66 LawnSite Fanatic

you dont charge per tree. You charge per yd deliered and installed. You need to figure out how many yds you need.

So if i had a 25yd job then the bill will be :

25 x 75 = $1875.00 + Tax

6. harleysville7

Thanks guys for the info. Very helpful.