20 years mowing the same lawn.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by David Haggerty, Mar 19, 2003.

1. I just had a "meeting" yesterday with a customer. I've been mowing this same factory for over 20 years. 3 years for the new owners.
    The "meeting" turned out to be a bid for the job!
    He explained "I hafta' get competitive bids but-I'm-sure-you'll-get-the-job."

YEAH RIGHT!

I've never raised the price since they moved in. 7.5 acres of sod cut up into little nasty parcels with curbs, chain link fences, streams to trim plus a lot of it's ditches and banks on a 45 degree slope so that I have to use a 4 wheel drive mower. And talk about trash! Oak 4x4's truckers throw in the lawn, steel banding and plastic shrink wrap everywhere!

I mow and trim this stinker for $350/cut. Cut and billed only as needed. And they have the nerve to take bids on it? Some people don't know when they're well off! :dizzy: :dizzy:

I'm just blowing off steam, sore at myself for not taking up for myself better.
    What I should have said was; $350 per cut? no-o-o-o-o that was just an old price that was grandfathered in. If you're taking bids, I want to recalculate my price!

Has anybody else experienced such an incredible lack of loyalty and/or common sense?
    Whatever happened to "If it ain't broke don't fix it"?

Dave

2. lawnmutt

lawnmutt LawnSite Member

Man what a slap in the face but I know how ya feel. I have a church property (my church) that I bid on every year. They want it in writing. After a heated business meeting where they point out the trash on the property(that was not there that morning). You just want to increase it so that it would be well worth all the headaches.

Some people can catch me so off guard I stand there with my mouth open muttering. after the fact I do the "I should of" or the "I wish I would of" bit.

Hey if you didn't hand in anything in writing it's not too late to raise your price and make your point.

just a thought

Marty