2001 F-250 Super Duty

Discussion in 'Trucks and Trailers' started by coywade, Nov 20, 2006.

1. coywade

coywade LawnSite Member

I am a new start up and I know quite a bit about the lawn care side of the business but I am a novice when it comes to vehicles. I have looked around for about a month now and found a 2001 F-250 Super Duty with a 5.4L V8. It has 110,000 highway miles on the truck. It has never been used for hauling and is in immaculate condition. I can get the truck for $9600. What do you guys think? Is that too many miles to start pulling a 16 foot trailer with? What do you estimate the gas mileage to be? I am looking for something that will go 3-4 years to get the business up and running and then purchase a lower mileage vehicle. I know that most on here prefer diesel but I just cannot find one thats not terribly beat to death in my price range. I want to put forth a great image so a beat up truck is not the way to start for me. Thank you so much for your help!!

2. sgrprincees

sgrprincees LawnSite Member

You don't say what trim level it is and what cab it has and if it's 4x4 or 4x2. Around here, crew cab SRW F-350s 4x2s are going for a little under $6k at state auction with just a few more miles, and they're in pretty good shape. If that's just a base model truck with vinyl seats, it's not worth over $5k.

3. Total.Lawn.Care

Total.Lawn.Care LawnSite Senior Member

You did leave out alot of detail on the truck as far as trim, 4x2 or 4x4, etc.

however, Here in the South, that is a pretty good deal on that truck for the condition that you describe, especially if it is a 4x4. Look on KBB and see what the value is... As far ar the miles, not to many. Most trucks now are running upwards of 250,000 miles if they are taken care of.

4. FearThisDeere

FearThisDeere LawnSite Bronze Member