2003 exmark 23hp 52" in Florida

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by tnales, Jul 9, 2005.

1. tnales

tnales LawnSite Member
    from florida

Hello. I am interested in purchasing a used mower that is for sale locally in Florida. It is a 23hp Kawasaki with a 52 inch deck. It has 115 hrs on it. What would be a reasonable cash price for this mower? I know that they are about 7-8000 new. Also, which motor is better? The Kohler of Kawasaki?

I have 2.5 acres in south florida and I would also like to use it as a secondary mower for my 22 acres in central florida.

I am new to the exmark scene and would appreciate any help. Thanks.

2. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

I guess part of the price issue would be if its a regular Z or Lazer Z HP. The HP's sell for more new than the 52" regular Z. One of the most sought after and best sellers of eXmark is the 52" Lazer Z HP with 23 Kawi. I've owned 2. The newest MSRP on the Lazer HP with Kawi is now $7999.

You can't really hurt any comm'l mower much in 115 hours, so I would consider it probably a very good machine. A little birdie inside eXmark one time told me that a good rule of thumb for figuring value was the selling price minus $5 per hour on the machine. With that in mind, that would still be more than I would be willing to pay for a used machine. If the machine was kept inside, oil changed correctly, nothing more than a few paint scratches from normal use, I would see giving $5000-$5700.

http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=48529

Oh, motor choice for me is Kawi only. They make more torque and I've never had any problems from them.

The 2003 HP has never in 2 yrs seen the inside of a shop. Other than oil, oil filters, airfilter, plugs and 1 set of belts its never been touched. The 2000 HP is just as bulit proof, although I don't own it anymore, a friend of mine does. He uses it daily as his front line mower.

3. tnales

tnales LawnSite Member
    from florida

Thanks.