21" mower high dollar or low dollar???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by helodude, Oct 25, 2000.

1. helodude

helodude LawnSite Member

I've been pondering this for several years approx. 10 to be exact. In the late 80's for a commercial 21", you paid around 650.00 to 900.00 per mower. You generally got a 5HP, self-propelled, rear bag. Back in those days I bought Snapper, Toro 2-cycle, the old Jac 2-cycle, Bobcat. No matter what I purchased I got 2 seasons before major work. For several years now, I've purchased the harry-homeowner machine, it's now got a 5HP, self-propelled and rear bagger. I've noticed it lasts about the same but I only pay for 250.00 for it. Depending on how it looks at the end of the season, I've sold them off at the yard sale. What I want to know was anyone else done this? Or thought about this? Or does this make me look like a fly-by night operation, because I've changed my colors?
  2. TLS

TLS LawnSite Fanatic

It goes back to the old addage that you make too good of a machine, it will not need replacement. You cheapen different parts and at least you sell the owner parts. You really cheapen them up, and you get repeat sales in a shorter time frame. Yeah, I'll pay $1200.00 for a trim mower if it is the last one that I'll have to buy (and be maintenance free!). My neighbor was in the biz and used to buy $99.00 K-Mart specials, and throw them out every year or two.

I personally have used LawnBoy's for 18 years (original still mowing for my Dad) and have had no problems. The cut could be a lot better, but they just run and run. Side discharge push. Never needed a bagger or self propelled.
  3. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic