21" Mower------> Unprofessional?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by XOFMOT, Jun 15, 2001.

1. XOFMOT

XOFMOT LawnSite Member

Ok everyone----I'm going to be making out my flyers this weekend to distribute this MONDAY!!!!
    I'll let everyone know the responce when I get some. I KNOW this week I WILL be getting my FIRST CUSTOMER!!!

My question is......Are the residential customers that are out there expecting to see a 60" hyro mowing there lawn or a 21" push? Like I said in another post, I'm just starting out with this career on a PART-TIME basis until it gets off the ground. I'm Starting off with all my "HOMEOWNER" equipment that I already own (21" Craftsman, Trimmer, Gas hedge trimmer, bacpack blower and so on...) I'm just wondering if this even makes a differance at all to the home owner.I bought a new truck last year, so I know I got that part covered for a while. Thanks in advance:D

mytruck.jpg

2. Scag48

Scag48 LawnSite Fanatic

To answer your question, yes and no. Yes, in a way they ARE expecting good service and what kind of equipment you have might reflect what kind of service. No, in a sense that most people DON'T like the look of a huge mower going across their lawn, at least that's what I've heard from some of the guys here. I think the deal there is they want you to take the most time you possibly can instead of coming in with big mowers, mowing it quick (but doing a good job) and leaving. In other terms, more time on the job for their $$$. Don't ever let anybody tell you off just because of what equipment you have. If the customer starts complaining about what equipment you have, leave. Drop the account and tell them that you can't and won't service a lawn that won't let you use your equipment the way you want. It's that simple. I hope this helped and good luck!

3. awm

awm LawnSite Gold Member