1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

21" Toro Personal Pace mower???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Fvstringpicker, Jun 2, 2003.

1. Fvstringpicker

Fvstringpicker LawnSite Fanatic

What's ya'lls recommendation on a Toro Personal Pace 21" as a trim mower? I don't really want to spend the $900+ for the commericial Toro 21.
  2. Zebop

Zebop LawnSite Member

Hi. I'm not a pro, but I own the personal pace mower (6.5 hp; aluminum deck), and it works just fine for my yard, which is about three-quarters of an acre (and very hilly - the pace mower pretty much goes by itseft up the hills - it's great). It's one of the better mulchers on the homeowner market, IMO, and the lawn looks great after your done, something you can't say about every mower. The only complaint I have is I have to clean the underside of the deck often. But for trimming purposes, you'll be fine.

Does anyone know of a spray I could use, or some other method, to cut down (no pun intended) on the grass build-up underneath?

BTW, you pros are great! I learn a lot here.
  3. lawnsbyryan

lawnsbyryan LawnSite Member

I will always stick by Toro...I have my trimmer mower (recycler) from the mid-90's and my commercial Toro walk behinds are phenomenal for the price

As far as the personal pace mower goes for a trimmer mower that is a lot to spend $900 +... I had no idea they were that expensive, but I have used one and they are great! I guess it depends on how much trimming you're going to be doing with it...maybe an Ariens 21" (great mower) or something comprable would make more sense or economical.

As for a spray for underneath decks...on my small mower I clean it real well and then use cooking oil (the cheap spray kind) and it seems to work pretty well.
  4. simsy71

simsy71 LawnSite Member