25 Hp Kawasaki Problem

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by DFENDER, Jun 9, 2004.

1. DFENDER

DFENDER LawnSite Member
    from Ohio

I WILL PREFACE THIS WITH I AM AN ENGINE NOVICE. I HAVE NOT BEEN EXPOSED TO WORKING ON THEM A LOT, BUT AM WILLING TO WITH INSTRUCTION. I HAVE A BRAND NEW (19 HRS) 25 HP KAWASAKI ENGINE IN A ZTR MOWER THAT ACTED LIKE IT WAS FLOODING OUT AND WOULD NOT START. TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER, AND THEY GOT IT RUNNING AND SAID THEY THOUGHT MAYBE WATER WAS IN THE TANK. THEY DID NOT DRAIN THE TANK AND I AM NOT SURE WHAT THEY DID TO GET IT RUNNING. IT WAS NEW, UNDER WARRANTY, SO I DID NOT ASK TOO MANY QUESTIONS.

STARTED MOWING WITH IT LAST NIGHT AND AFTER ABOUT AN HOUR OR SO, IT STARTED ACTING FUNNY AGAIN. I COULD TELL THE RPM'S WERE LOWER AND EVERY TIME THE PTO IS ENGAGED, IT IS ALL IT CAN DO TO KEEP RUNNING. WHEN YOU TRY TO MOVE THE MOWER WITH THE PTO, IT REALLY WANTS TO FLOOD OUT.

I HAVE TRIED STP GAS TREATMENT AND GAS DRY IN EACH TANK AND IT STILL DOES NOT SEEM TO FIX THE PROBLEM.

MY QUESTION IS, WOULD WATER IN THE GAS LINE LET THE MOWER OPERATE OVER AN HOUR AND THEN SHOW UP AGAIN AND GIVE THE ENGINE PROBLEMS?

ANY SUGGESTIONS ON WHAT TO TRY? I AM THINKING I WILL DRAIN ONE OF THE GAS TANKS, PUT NEW GAS IN AND TRY IT AGAIN. DOES ANYONE THINK THIS IS THE PROBLEM, OR SHOULD I BE MORE WORRIED? THANKS IN ADVANCE.

2. fixer67

fixer67 LawnSite Silver Member

No. water sinks to the bottom in a gas tank. The pick up is in the bottom of the tank so the water would be the first thing you would get. If it runs for an hour before it starts acting up I would have to ask if the coil is getting hot. The next time it starts acting up and dies check the spark while it is still hot. From what you are saying it sounds like the coil MAYBE getting hot. That may not be the problem but it is something to thank about. Good luck

3. southerngroundscare

southerngroundscare LawnSite Member