3 acre lawn question

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by jt5019, Jun 12, 2006.

1. jt5019

jt5019 LawnSite Bronze Member

Ive been mowing lawns for quite a few years but most of my accounts have been no bigger than 1.5 acres. Today i was approached by a lady who liked my work.. bottom line is she just bought a house with a 3 acre lawn and wants a estimate for me to cut it. Several flower beds to be mulched at a later date.

I know it varies but what would you charge to mow,trim,blow a 3 acre lawn on a weekly basis ?..... Ill be using a scag 48 tiger cub zrt for the time being.

The lawn is mostly flat, very little if any hills. There is some trees and flower beds to go around but not too many. There is also a small area around a pool that needs to be cut (should be able to fit a 48 mower no problem.)

Right now the lawn is kind of a mess because its in between owners, the house looks like it may have been empty for sometime.

Any help would be appreciated
  2. mattfromNY

mattfromNY LawnSite Bronze Member

We do $50/ hour, figure how long it will take, and give a price. It works for us, but take into consideration your own expenses and travel time, etc... With our equipment, and two guys, no moving toys or picnic tables, no big hills, no excessive trimming, running two mowers (one 61" ZTR, and a 36" walk behind), we have a couple of 2 and 3 acre lawns, and usually get $100/ cut. just my 6 cents.
  3. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

3 acres goes for as low as $105.00 to as high as $150.00, depending where you are, the middle ground would be 130-135.

With a 48" it will take right around 3 hours to get it all done, 2 hours and 15 minutes in top gear once over just to cut, figure another 30 minutes or so weed-eating, and 15'ish blowing down, you'll want to earn no less than $45 / hour since you're there the whole time, so 3 x 45 = $135.00