32" Exmark Metro w/ECS vs. 32" Toro TBar

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by gmanlq, Feb 1, 2008.

1. gmanlq

gmanlq LawnSite Member

Need to buy my next mower and I'm somewhat new to this business. Got to be 32" to get through gates in the backyards of some of my customers. I'm considering the two above as my final choices. I have good dealers for both as they are willing to lend a loaner or rent one if mine goes down plus they have service departments. The Metro 32" walk behind is $2599 and the 32" Toro TBar walk behind is $2949. Is the Toro worth the extra money? Exmark dealer is closer to get to. Both offer financing to ease the pain.

Also, please keep in mind that next season I hope to buy a bigger 3rd mower...maybe a 48" or 60" and I'd like to buy my two biggest mowers from the same company...one stop maintenance. Love to hear your thoughts especially if you've used both of these two products in particular. Thanks in advance.

The Toro website seems to have more details and features as shown:

Patented Adjustable Baffle
    Patented Adjustable Baffle
    Allows operator to achieve maximum cutting performance by fine-tuning deck to conquer changing conditions, unique job sites or different times of the season. In extreme conditions, the baffle can be opened in order to conserve power and achieve faster mowing speeds. In less demanding conditions, the baffle can be closed to yield micro-sized particles and maximize discharge velocity.

A flat, crisp cut with precision blades.
    A flat, crisp cut with precision blades.
    1/4" thick precision blades resist flexing to provide a flat, crisp cut. High-strength, heat-treated alloy steel survives impacts and provides resistance to the rapid wear commonly associated with abrasive conditions.

Smarter design in a bull-nose bumper.
    Smarter design in a bull-nose bumper.