32" or 36"

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Shu_Dog, Apr 18, 2004.

1. Shu_Dog

Shu_Dog LawnSite Member

I'm new to the business and I want to get more production on my mowing - looking to upgrade from a 21" to either a 32" or 36" Exmark Metro. The problem is that I have a couple of acounts that only have a 36" gate. (post to post is 36", out-to-out of metro is approx 37") The plus side to the 36" Metro is it is available with ECS.

What would you guys suggest:
    a.) Purchase the 32" and be able to utilize in both front and back yards for all acounts.

or

b.) Purchase the 36" and use the 21" in the back yards that won't allow the 36" mower through the gate.

Currently have 12 accounts striving for 35-40 by the end of the year.

If things go right I hope to get a 48" or 52" for next season.

Any help is appreciated.

2. Tvov

Tvov LawnSite Bronze Member
    from CT

Get the 32", and down the road get a 48" or larger as you are planning.

3. Itsgottobegreen

Itsgottobegreen LawnSite Silver Member

I got a 32 metro (used) for that very same reason. I had one gate that was 34" wide with 1/2 acre of grass. The 32" just fit. The get a 48" deck year since the blades are the same size, Saves money when you buy blades.

4. dishboy

dishboy LawnSite Platinum Member
    from zone 6

My new Exmark tthp specs at a 35.5 incut with a 36 in deck and will fit through a standard 36in gate. IMO you will be much more pleased with the 36in, but I would reccomend a floating deck and Hydro if you can afford it.

5. Fareway Lawncare

Fareway Lawncare LawnSite Silver Member
    from Canada

A 32" or 36" belt won't save you much time over a 21" if your props are Very Small. With all the turning & backing up the belt will actually make you less productive. When I ran belts my guys allways grabbed the 21" Prolines over the belt drives on res. accounts.

Go Hydro.

viking.jpg

6. dishboy

dishboy LawnSite Platinum Member
    from zone 6