36" Ferris Belt Drive Walk Behind

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by howardsells2000, Apr 5, 2006.

1. howardsells2000

howardsells2000 LawnSite Senior Member

I'm new to the business. I have 3 mowers, 52", 36" and 21". Most of my lawns are small and about 1/3 have fenced yards. I have been trying to use my 36" more often but it seems like it takes more time and effort. It's a belt drive. Most of the professionals on this site seem to think the 36" is a good mower for getting through gates. That's why I bought it. But today I just used my 21" and things seemed easier. Maybe I just need more practice with the 36".

2. howardsells2000

Anybody there?

3. mrbray101

mrbray101 LawnSite Senior Member

why does a 21" seem faster? Generally the biggest mower you can use is the best method but if a 21 is easier for you then why not? What seems difficult on the 36"?

4. J&R Landscaping

J&R Landscaping LawnSite Fanatic

I would use the 52 where ever you can and save the 36 for gated backyards. I only use a 21 where a 36 won't fit and it is to much area to cut it with the string trimmer. JMO

5. howardsells2000

I know the cutting size is bigger so it should be faster but it seems like more work getting the 36 through the yards. I have to get around swing sets, tables, flower beds and such. I think I should have bought the 36 hydro instead of the belt drive. I don't want to complain but I was just wondering if anybody else feels like this. I think tomorrow I will use the 36" again. Maybe I just have to get used to it. I am a man, I will adapt. No mower is going to kick my butt.

6. mrbray101

mrbray101 LawnSite Senior Member