36" Mower reviews

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by soakem'dry, Jan 12, 2002.

1. soakem'dry

soakem'dry LawnSite Member

Hi, this is my first time here. I'm looking to purchase 2 new 36" mowers this year and I was wondering if there is some sort of consumer report on the different mowers out there. I'm looking at walkbehinds; bobcat, lesco, scag, toro, etc and was looking to get the best bang for my buck.

Thanks in advance

2. AA961JESTER

AA961JESTER LawnSite Member

I am in the market for a new 36 myself. I am looking strongly at the 36 landscaper. It is selling for just over 2000, and is currently on sale for 1750.
    From looking at SCAGs, Bobcats, Ferris, and Landscaper, they all seem the same except for color and price.

3. gene gls

gene gls LawnSite Gold Member

Check out all the brands avialable in your area to compare differances and buy the one you feel best sutes your needs. I will point out two features that I don't like about a 36". First, the drive base is the same width as a 48" base making the deck edge even with the wheels so its useless trying to trim cut. Second, the blades are staggered, one slightly ahead of the other making for a longer wheel base inturn increases the scalping of uneven areas. I would suggest buying one unit small enough to fit your gatted yards and one 48"unit for the open yards. At least with a 48"you can trim cut to reduce your string trim time.

Do a serch, there is tons of info.

Gene

4. The statement above is only half true, by using generalization.

On most brands and types. There are some that differ.

A 36" is practicly a 3 spindle mowers missing one spindle, leaving 2 spindles, which still has the overlap set in it. It usualy the same length or less than a wider deck mower.

A 36" usualy tends to scalp less than it's larger counterparts. Also requiring less anti scalp wheels.

How so?