1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

4 Wheel Hi or Lo?

Discussion in '<a href=http://www.plowsite.com target=_blank ?>Sn' started by RB, Nov 29, 2000.

1. RB

RB LawnSite Senior Member

Is it always necessary to plow in 4 wheel Lo? This is my first year out. I bought a new Chev. 2500 w/Meyer 7.5. The salesperson said I need to be in 4 Wheel Lo at all times when I'm plowing. all my lots with a few exception are flat. I think I can plow in 4 Wheel Hi. Any help?
  2. plowking35

plowking35 LawnSite Bronze Member
    from S.E. CT

Our gas trucks with autos plow in 4 low 95% of the time. that is why the 205 t case is nice, it ha a higher gear ration, so reverse isnt so slow. All standards can use 4 hi.
    All diesels plow 4 hi, the low range causes to many rpms, and I dont like revving the diesels all night.

OBRYANMAINT LawnSite Senior Member

i plow in 4 high and two wheel depending on amount of snow
  4. TLS

TLS LawnSite Fanatic

I only plow in Low Range when the snow is heavy and deep. Other than that, its 4 HI. I think Low range is dangerous for me because I run 2500+ lbs of salt and a spreader in the back and if I blip the big block, I may just twist an axle or something. There is just too much torque multiplication in 4LO. Just be careful if you have traction. What rear gears do you have? I like 4HI because I can shift to 2HI when turning around in a dry street or whatever. And on a parking lot, reverse is too slow in 4LO.

I'm wondering just how slow a new Allison is in reverse 4LO? They have a real low first gear and a lower reverse. On these Allisons, Low Range is just about useless unless your climbing a rocky cliff!

[Edited by dixie1 on 11-29-2000 at 02:11 PM]
  5. yardsmith

yardsmith LawnSite Senior Member
    from Ohio

Same as others here-