1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

$40, too much??

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by ToG, Mar 24, 2003.

1. ToG

ToG LawnSite Member

i bid on a prop. today and now i'm having second thoughts about my proposal. the homes in this area are in the upper 300 to 400's. this home is on a rounded corner lot and has about 12000 sq ft of turf, of nice grade, nothing too steep. there is about 340 linear feet of edging that needs done and calls for the usual trimming around the house itself. i placed a bid of $40 per mow, i think it's worth it but i'm new to the bidding process and wanted to see what everyone else would say. honestly it's an ideal yard and would love to have it, but i don't want to sell myself short just because i'm new. i know how to mow, so i'm qualified, it's just that the confidence i have in my novice estimating skills is shakey.
  2. HarryD

HarryD LawnSite Bronze Member

I think your right on. I would not do it for anything lower
  3. adrianvbarrera

adrianvbarrera LawnSite Member

How many accounts do you have?

LAWNS AND MOWER LawnSite Bronze Member

Since you're in the high rent district, I would stick to your guns. Word of caution. People with alot of $$$ can be the biggest tight wads. Good luck.
  5. ToG

ToG LawnSite Member