1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community on the Franchising Forum.

Dismiss Notice

52 inch Toro Walk Behind

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by ac.lawn.care, Feb 12, 2012.

1. ac.lawn.care

ac.lawn.care LawnSite Member

I am going to be looking at a Toro 52inch walk behind. It is hydro and a pull start. Probably an '07 model with 180 hours on it. I have no experience with these and was wondering if there might be something I should look for in regards to problems with the mower?

It appears to be in good shape cosmetically and I will be running it this evening. What kind of price would be good for it? I am thinking somewhere between 2500 and 3500 depending on how it runs. It comes with a velkie, baggin kit, and mulching kit.

Thanks in advance!!!!!!

2. ac.lawn.care

3. ricky86

ricky86 LawnSite Bronze Member

Make sure the drive levers move down in their slot smoothly and as quickly as you move the speed control stick in the center of the dash. You should not have to help them go down. If the unit has the issue, you should notice it right away.

4. ac.lawn.care

Thanks and will do Ricky.

5. ac.lawn.care

If I make an offer, is $3000 too much or to little assuming the mower is as advertised?

6. Lbilawncare

Lbilawncare LawnSite Bronze Member

Keep in mind that machine is fixed deck, which makes it more difficult to change heights. Pistol grips are a little more physically challenging than t-bar.

7. ac.lawn.care

Well, I just took a look at it and it performed well and the owner seemed like a solid guy. The mower shows little signs of use. He is going to throw in a velkie, bagging set-up, and mulching kit. I am thinking of $3000 being a fair price. any thoughts?

8. metro36

metro36 LawnSite Silver Member