5x10 trailer question?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by d.m.d., Sep 12, 2006.

1. d.m.d.

d.m.d. LawnSite Member

im just starting out and i want to keep my equipment on the trailer and keep it parked in the garage when not in use.i have an old car and all the kids toys in there so im limited on room.iwas looking at a 5x12 trailer but im now wondering about a 5x10?can a guy fit a 32 and a 48 walk behind,a 21 pushmower on a 5x10 trailer?i can order a 5x12 but am i really gonna notice 2 feet?

2. J&R Landscaping

J&R Landscaping LawnSite Fanatic

Yes, You can fit a 32 or 36" wb, a 48" wb and a 21" on a 5x10. You will also have a little room for a grass gobler or two and a few trash cans. (I know an lco who has the set-up I just described fit nicley on a 5x10)

3. YardPro

YardPro LawnSite Gold Member

i can't see it.

we use a 7.5 X 12 and can barely fit 2 44" toro pro line wb's on it without turning one sideways. there is only 6 -7 inches of room left.
    the 21's will fit nicely off to one side, but i would think that with a 5" width, there will be no room for a 21" beside the 48" wb.... only have a few inches on each side of the deck...

Always buy the iggest trailer you can. You will ALWAYS outgrow the small one, then you will have to buy another....

we only have the small trailer so we can have a residental crew set up with an s-10 and a a little trailer to pull around in our INSANE summer traffic.
    the commercials get the larger trailer... 16" minimum.

4. HOOLIE

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member

I have a 5x10. That would be a pretty tight setup you're describing...I have 2 36's and I have to turn them backwards to get the gate to latch. I CAN easily fit the 21 alongside a 36 but usually I just stick it in the bed of the truck on the days I need it.

5. Primetime-SRQ

Primetime-SRQ LawnSite Member