6 HP Briggs loses power

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by agreif, May 18, 2004.

1. agreif

agreif LawnSite Member

OK, I'm a newbie to the site, so be gentle. I just picked up a 5-6 year old self propelled Murray lawnmower from my boss that he has had trouble with and was tired of messing with. It has a 6 HP Briggs. Here is the problem. He says it will go for about 20 minutes and then start to lose power down to an idle level. He's taken it in and I guess they replaced the carb float. I got it last night, emptied the gas tank, put some carb cleaner in the carb and some injector/carb cleaner in the tank and let it sit. I haven't experienced it yet, but figured you guys might be able to point me in the right direction. I haven't pulled the plug, but can't see it causing this problem specifically (although it probably would help). It's got to be something fuel related I would think. I'm hoping the new gas will do it, but I'm not sure. Filter looks good, not gummed up.

Suggestions?

Thanks,
    Andrew

2. martinw

martinw LawnSite Member

If I understand this correctly you are saying it runs for about 20 mins. then it dies out. It makes me think the problem is related to when it gets hot rather than fuel system. I'd do a compression check on it and see what happens from there. Just a piece of advice too while you have the mower set up now, I'd go ahead and check/change the air filter, spark plug, do an oil change and maybe sharpen the blade (pretty much all routine maintance, but it isn't a bad idea and elimates the filter and plug from being a problem too).

3. Molerj

Molerj LawnSite Member
    from Ohio

Don't rule out the gas cap, altho 20 min. sounds like a long time. When it starts to die out try loosening the cap.

4. agreif

agreif LawnSite Member