6 yr old system-Importance of maintenance

Discussion in 'Landscape Lighting' started by High Performance Lighting, Mar 10, 2007.

1. High Performance Lighting

High Performance Lighting LawnSite Senior Member
    from So Cal

I changed 21 lamps on this 6 year old system tonight that has around 120 fixtures on it. It was dark when I was done so I took some shots. Here is one of them. As you can see spring has arrived here (notice the flowers on the plum trees). It's going to be in the 90's this weekend.

pool-1.JPG

2. bumper

bumper LawnSite Member
    from So. Cal

sent you a pm

3. High Performance Lighting

from So Cal

Bumper the camera is a 12.8 megapixel Full frame Canon EOS 5D with a Canon 24-70 Professional "L" glass lens. I have two other Canon SLR digital Cameras the D60 and the 20D all great cameras for shooting landscape lighting. I don't have any special tricks. 90% of my shots are junk and not usable so I am no pro photographer. I can offer some tips though after 12 years of shooting my work. Generally speaking You have a 15 minute window to shoot in- so called Twilight, Magic hr. (15 minutes). You will need a tripod and a cable release. Hand holding will make for blurry images. Bracket your exposures which means take two or three shots of the same composition with different exposure times. This will come with experience trial and error. After 12 yrs. I have a good feel for exposure time but there are so many factors, ambient light, amount of light on the subject, etc. The higher the aperature setting the smaller the shutter opening so you'll need longer exposure time with higher aperature settings. The higher the aperature settings the more detail and depth of field you will get in your photos. Be careful though too high of an aperature setting and you'll be standing there holding the shutter open for a very long time which will limit how many shots you can get per session. remember you only have around 15 minutes. When the sky is a rich deep royal b