1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

7 acres of spraying

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Green Acres, May 2, 2006.

1. Green Acres

Green Acres LawnSite Senior Member

I had a call today and a lady needs 7 acres sprayed for weeds. I have to go look at it tomorrow and was wondering what everyone else would charge for this. It flat and open. I have never done anything this big before and didn't know where to start. Thanks
  2. eruuska

eruuska LawnSite Senior Member

What sort of equipment will you be using?
  3. Olylawnboy

Olylawnboy LawnSite Senior Member
    from Oly Wa

I don't do a lot of spraying on props this size but for the couple of ones I do I get $110. an acre. I would bump it up ten bucks or so now due to gas prices. I use my Walker to pull a 15 gal. unit that I got at HD. Works great!
    I hope I'm not lowballin here :)
    Check out the pesticide forum to see what the big boys may charge.
  4. eruuska

eruuska LawnSite Senior Member

I just picked up an account that has 5 acres of flat, wide open grass, and I quoted about $108 per acre. I use a Permagreen to spray/spread. I just did an application of granular Dimension w/0-0-7. My cost was about $330, so my markup/labor was about $210. It took about 2 hours. Next app (Speedzone) will be more profitable, as my material cost will be about $140.
  5. LawnTamer

LawnTamer LawnSite Gold Member

I did a 7 acre park yesterday with my 200 gal spacesaver, I charged $1,450 that was for fert, 3-way and Pre-em.
    I usually do small residential 5-7,000 ft lawns, I keep thinking when I do these big jobs, "Man with this same amount of materials I could do 50-60 lawns & make like $2,500." But the truth is I charge for my time, and I could never do 50-60 lawns(blanket spray) in 7 hrs by myself.
  6. Killswitch