85 ford f250 6.9 liter diesel

Discussion in 'Trucks and Trailers' started by TandM, May 5, 2008.

1. TandM

TandM LawnSite Senior Member
    from south

alright my friend has one of these sitting at his house has not run in a few years. they kind of parked it on the farm and never got around to using it because they bought a new truck. Are the 6.9s good engines I am going with him to try to get her running this upcoming weekend. What tools will I need to get it going parts? I was thinking a crescent tool set that i have and A battery what else is needed to get an old diesel running?

2. hosejockey2002

hosejockey2002 LawnSite Bronze Member

I'm no diesel expert, but besides a good battery you'll want to change oil, oil filter, fuel filter and coolant. There's a good chance there will be water in either the fuel lines or tank, and you don't want that in there. You'll have to get all the air and water out of the fuel system up to the injectors or it won't run.

3. TandM

TandM LawnSite Senior Member
    from south

thankyou do I need to drain the tank and how to do this?

4. thecollector

thecollector LawnSite Member

You will need 2 batterys. The Ford's are a 24 volt Electrical starting system, and short of having two fresh 750CCA batterys or another diesel to jump from you won't have a chance. Try a can of ether starting fluid for a little help, just don't drown it you can hyrdolock a diesel very easily with the higher compression ratio. You can check the glowplugs with a test light. Hook the clamp end to the positive battery terminal and the probe tip on the end of the plug while it is still installed in the head. The light should illuminate indicating the the glowplug isn't damaged. If replacement is neccessary be carefull with the older diesels when removing glowplugs, they can break off easily after sitting for long stints. A can of PB Blast or other penetrating oil goes a long way. Sounds like a good project, good luck.

5. JRS Landscaping