911 Moonlighters

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by wintergreenlawn&landscape, Feb 15, 2008.

1. wintergreenlawn&landscape

wintergreenlawn&landscape LawnSite Member
    from CT

I am a full-time paramedic, who runs my own business. Just wondering how many of you out there share the same hours and issues with owning your own business as I do?

2. bas122286

bas122286 LawnSite Member

I am a full-time EMT-I in paramedic school and work a 24/48 schedule. I love it. Work my 24, get paid have my insurance (which is paid for), then have 2 full days off to run the business. :cool2:

3. lawnspecialties

lawnspecialties LawnSite Silver Member

There are quite a few of us full-time firefighters here as well. I work 24 hour shifts here from 8:00 am to 8:00 am. 1 on, 1 off, 1 on, 1off, 1 on, 4 off.

4. FIRESCOOBY

FIRESCOOBY LawnSite Senior Member

24 on 48 off here.

It's very hard sometimes.

5. wintergreenlawn&landscape

from CT

This is the way to go!! I am full time medic supervisor making approximately 75-80K a year with full benefits and 401K. Therefore its hard for me to feel what these guys are feeling sometime that do it for a living. However, at the same time, we do work 70-80 hrs a week. This is why sometime on this forum, I have a hard time listening to all the complaining and laugh at all the equipment pics. Guys on here say that they buy equipment in order to make money, however, why do they feel the need to take pics of it and show them to us?

6. wintergreenlawn&landscape

from CT

With all that said, I guess my real issue lies within the weather on my days off....When it rains on my days off...that makes for a late / long week.

7. FIRESCOOBY

I enjoy looking at the pictures...