1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

A couple of questions from a newbie

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by chrisbo, Aug 24, 2002.

1. chrisbo

chrisbo LawnSite Member
    from kansas

First of all, I would like to thank each and every one of you for the wealth of information that you share. It is greatly appreciated!

I am seriously considering entering this field next summer and am currently looking for as much info as possible. Keep in mind that I’m just getting started so please don’t bash my ignorance!

--I’ve read in some post that people are licensed to do lawn service. I understand that you have to be licensed for chemical treatments, but does a license exist for simply mowing, trimming, blowing, etc.?

--How did you guys go about getting any formal training? I am in Kansas and know of no courses or training programs available.

--What’s the low-down on the leasing program that Exmark offers? I looked over the info provided on the web site but I’m still curious as to whether or not anyone does this, and if it’s worth it.

--I live in a town of approximately 13,000. Currently, only one team in this town mows full-time. It’s a 2-man crew. Obviously they can’t get them all, but do you think an intelligently ran advertising campaign could possibly provide me with enough lawns to make a living?

Right now I’m just full of enthusiasm! I see the quality of work in this area and am shocked that people actually accept the services they are provided. Apartment complexes in particular look horrible! I’m just hopeful that my willingness to succeed and gather information will carry me to a happy career.

Thank you all very much for taking the time to respond.

Have a great day.

2. m&m

m&m LawnSite Member