1. bdemir

bdemir LawnSite Senior Member

well im finally buying the new truck and its probably going to be a gmc one ton stake truck but i want to know what would be the best engine and transmission combo and my other question is can i buy the dual wheels in the back instead of 4x4. Ive heard that people get by with these with a little weight in the back or do i just need to get a 4x4. Also what options would be recommended. Basically its my first time buying something like this and all the advice would be greatly appreciated.<p><br>I am open to comments an other makes and models .

2. GeoffDiamond

GeoffDiamond LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

I think you are going to need 4X4, to plow snow. Only if you want to use 2wd get a heavy truck, maybe a Ford 550. If you get the 550 i would get the 7.3, with the auto trans, and the 5.13 rear end.<p>The other thing about 2wd is maybe for plowing all you need is 2wd in most spots. Only what happend when a major storm strikes and the roads have like 6 or 8 of snow on them, it happens all the time in maine. I bet if you have any hills to climb, 2wd will give you trouble fast, unless you want to plow the roads for free. <p>Also i think dual rear wheels are worse in the snow. Wider tire area, same drive train. I think i would want single rear wheels for 2wd in the snow. I could be wrong about this, so if i am someone please tell me.<p>Geoff<p>

3. plowking35

plowking35 LawnSite Bronze Member
    from S.E. CT