A dilemma

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Pax, Apr 29, 2008.

1. Pax

Pax LawnSite Member

Hey all,

I would appreciate any thoughts from any and all here.

Here's a conundrum (my word of the day, lol) that I am faced with. Last fall my JD F525 of 20 years finally had the kawasaki in her give up. With the deck as worn as it is, I feel that a rebuild/replacement would be a waste of time and money. I have been mowing my acreage with this for 20 years, starting out at about 2 acres when I bought it and that has grown to almost 7 acres that I now keep mowed. I have been looking a ztr's all winter and almost pulled the string on one of the three I was looking at. JD 425 residential, JD 727, or a Kubota ZG23. Now that's not too bad a decision to make, but as spring approached some new developments have me rethinking my purchase.

The town I live next to has just passed a "no long grass" bylaw (because of fire concerns) for all of the empty lots in the town. These lots number about 100 or so. These lots range in size form 2 to 4 acres (yes I am in the west) and have only been mowed for hay or had a horse or two on them in the past, and so are quite neglected (to say the least). I had a councilman discuss with me the need for a "rough cut" business to offer their services to all the land owners to keep them from being fined and then charged outrageous amounts by the town to mow their lots for them. Anyway, he hinted rather strongly that they would put their support behind me, if I were to make this service available.

1) As these lots only need keep their grass to a maximum of 6" I presume that there would be 3 to 4 mowings during our mowing season.

2) These lots are rough and a finish mowing is not needed or expected.

3) I am needing a mower for my 7 acres, part of which is lawn, part of which is rougher cut (ditch banks etc)