A few basic questions to make a big impact.

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by EliteImpressions, Oct 2, 2004.

1. EliteImpressions

EliteImpressions LawnSite Member
    from Jersey

I am just starting out from scratch and I have a few questions that will hopefully put me on the right foot.

- To mow in wet grass, what are the pros(if any), and the cons. (ie quality of cut, blade wear and tear)
    - For small residential properties, what height should you cut the grass?
    - The BIG question: Originally I was planning on charging relatively cheap to start getting customers, but as a I think about it, I will only be able to cut between 10-20 lawns a week at first. So should I charge close to top dollar? The average lawn is probably 2500-3500sf mostly flat with few obstacles. I was thinking about 30 for each cut. Also I would try on getting a fertilizer plan started. Charging between 35-40 for this size lawn. Is this about right?

Company name- I am thinking between two names: Elite Impressions and use a fairly ordinary logo. Or be named Jersey Devil Landscaping and the logo would be a Dragon pushing a lawn mower. I think Jersey Devil would definitely stick out more especially with a huge dragon pushing a lawn mower on the side of my truck (it should get a lot of attention) but would its name turn a few people off?

What truck is going to hold up the best : ram, 150 etc. I am buying new since I dont want any maintenance problems from the get go.

I will also be purchasing all new equipment next year: 36in wb, stick edger, line trimmer, bp blower, and snow blower at end of next year. Any good buys would be a great help.

I am starting out slow and hopefully making a few time career out of this. Thanks for the help.

2. Branchland

Branchland LawnSite Senior Member

Starting out slow is a good way to do it. With the equipment buying a used mower is no problem to save some bucks. Smaller stuff I'd go new.