A few starting out questions...PLEASE HELP

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by StevensL&L, Feb 16, 2007.

1. StevensL&L

StevensL&L LawnSite Member

Well im brand new to the site tonight i just joined about 5 mins ago. Ive been before and read alot of the threads and thought it would be awesome to join.

Well ive been mowing grass and doing other lawn services for a couple years now. I started off just doing if for extra cash and now i love it and im going to school for a horticulture degree. My buisness is doing pretty good i have about 20 or so customers and i was just hoping to get some tips on a few questions ive always wanted to ask but never had anyone to ask it too so please help!

1. HOW TO GET MORE CUSTOMERS??
    2. How much to pay a worker when mowing?
    3. How to determine what to charge per yard?
    4. What to do in the winter?
    5. Dump truck or dump trailor?
    6. Currently using JD... Is it worth the price?
    7. Whats the best way to get the mowers around? Trailer or like a Izuzu Utility truck?

Thanks alot guys for any reply im looking forward to reading them and getting to know some people. Anything tips would be useul!!
    -Steven

2. JGroverCU

JGroverCU LawnSite Member

1. Word of mouth. If you provide quality work, then people will ask your customers about you and soon be calling.
    2. The obvious answer is pay the cheapest amount that you can get away without breaking laws. Typically here we pay between 8-10 for a reagular employee. Not talking about forman.
    3.Look at your costs. Time, travel, solo or employees, and equipment. Estimate how long it will take to mow the lawn and add your travel fees.
    4.Winter in IL is and easy one with snow. Think about getting into snow removal. If you cannot take on that option consider cleanups. You can always invest your time in bettering your knowledge in the industry.