a little help for a new guy

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by bigcountry01, Feb 26, 2007.

1. bigcountry01

bigcountry01 LawnSite Member

ok guys im pretty new to the landscaping part of this industry. I mostly do mowing and mulch jobs but i want to get into doing more landscape design. Ive got a few questions i would like some advice on. First off i got a call this week to do a pretty big landscape job in an upscale neighborhood close to me. To give u an idea the job estimate is around $4,000. I have never done a job this big before but i want to take it on for a learning experience. My first question is do u require a deposit upfront on a job costing this much? If so how much? I was thinking of asking for 50% upfront just to cover myself. Also do u add a percentage on to the cost of materials to cover overhead? i was going to add 10% to the cost of my materials (which are discounted) to cover overhead. thanks guys for any advice and help u can give me

2. tthomass

tthomass LawnSite Gold Member
    from N. VA

Are you tax exempt? If not, do not show a mark up on the contract for the material........its illegal.

50% deposit is pretty much standard

What are you doing? What are your costs and whats your margin......then you'll know if $4,000 is a good price. If you're not walking away with $1500 something is possibly wrong with your "estimate".

3. jbailey52

jbailey52 LawnSite Bronze Member

I agree... and I hope this homeowner never mentioned $4,000 and thats where your getting this estimate from.. from some of these questions, I wonder if you are on the verge of a big error with your estimating, and digging yourself a hole

4. bigcountry01