1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

a little help.

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by RedWingsDet, Apr 19, 2008.

1. RedWingsDet

RedWingsDet LawnSite Gold Member
    from Detroit

well, I hate it when people ask "what do I charge". However, I just want to make sure I am inline with this industry as I am in my 2nd year with irrigation work.

Heres what I have:

5 Zones.
    All mist heads, 30 heads (hunter).
    5 valves (hunter).
    1 vb (febco).
    1 clock (3 station, hunter pro c)
    1 expansion module (for hunter pro c)
    2 Valve boxes.
    400 ft of 1" line.
    Plus misc fittings, copper main, and wire, etc..

Now, for this install I am at about $3,500. It would take about 1 day if everything went smooth (no trees in sight = no roots; hopefully). Plus this includes pulling the pipe.

Does this sound about right as far as stations, and parts needed?
    I am confident that I am pricing it right in regards to parts, but i need a better grip on time it'll take.

I am sure you guys hate threads like this, however I know alot more about this type of work that most think (15yr vet. in irrigation has taught me alot in 3 years, lol). Thanks fellas!
  2. hoskm01

hoskm01 LawnSite Fanatic

a. heads shouldn't mist. whats the model, nozzle, etc?
    b. copper main? int eh ground, or just out of the house? sounds pricey, for you.
    c. 1 day for you or 1 day for a small army?

there is no way we could know if there were enough stations without knowing flow, pressure, size being irrigated, heads and nozzles used etc...

go with more...
  3. RedWingsDet

from Detroit

a.) hunter 4" mist heads with 10' - 12' halfs and qtrs.

b.) copper from the main to the vb only (inside only).

c.) 1 day with my crew of 3. (36 man hrs.)