1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

A Property management Co. requesting "extra" work

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by WildWest, Nov 10, 2004.

1. WildWest

WildWest LawnSite Senior Member

;) Let me start at the beginning,

I'm a forklift mechanic at Disney World, I was working at a forklift dealership part-time unitl the hurricanes hit and my neighbor (who had a lawn service) had some damage to his house. He and his wife decided to move to Indiana... I had mentioned an interest in the lawn service business. After trading in his 44" rider for a 4-wheeler, and due to his financial needs, he offered to sell me his 36" walk-behind and other goodies for $2000.00 (detail later) but along with this, came his customer (who weren't even aware he was leaving!) I agreed to the offer since the forklift Co. was screwing with my hours. I bought a trailer, registered the name, license, business cards, ins. etc, etc,.

Yes, I said "customer", a property management company with 36 RENTAL properties. They offered to let me have a go at it, since my neighbor hadn't even serviced but 12 properties and they were only 1 week into their agreement!