A question about questions to ask clients

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by keys861, Mar 25, 2014.

1. keys861

keys861 LawnSite Member

Since I'm just starting out this year, I was curious if you all asked personal questions of clients? Such as birthdays, anniversaries important dates for them.
    Does anyone send out birthday/anniversary cards to clients?
    It seems a little silly to me, but a chimney sweep friend of mine sends his cards out and he is convinced it gets him referrals and repeat business.
    Any thoughts?

2. WenzelOSLLC

WenzelOSLLC LawnSite Senior Member

I usually don't ask but in our regular conversation it comes up from time to time and I make notes about birthdays and things. I find it useful for more than just sending cards; it helps me plan ahead a bit.
    Knowing a birthday is coming up can help you avoid showng up a little late one day and the client is setting up tables and games in the yard.

3. Nate'sLawnCare

Nate'sLawnCare LawnSite Bronze Member

I usually don't ask personal questions of clients, but sometimes these things come up in normal conversation. I take an interest in my clients to a point, but like to keep it professional and not appear to pry.

4. easy-lift guy

easy-lift guy LawnSite Gold Member

I consider asking any personal questions of my customers unnecessary and unprofessional.
    Information of a personal nature is generally private and should remain as such.
    easy-lift guy

5. Jcl4slc

Jcl4slc LawnSite Senior Member

Bingo, great advice. There is no reason to be concerned about clients birthdays and anniversaries.

6. jrodgers

jrodgers LawnSite Member