A "real" scrub

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by GrassBlaster, Apr 6, 2004.

1. GrassBlaster

GrassBlaster LawnSite Member

By what I read in here, a lot of you guys might call me a scrub. I'm new to the biz, but I heed almost all the advice I have gotten in here. I'll have my pesticide license in June, and refuse to spray before then. I report everything and pay my taxes...but I have been working a little cheaper than the established guys. Now that I have established a clientele base, though, my bids are getting higher. I will not drop my gate for less than $25.00, and a $25.00 yard will not take my more than 30 minutes alone.

I am working hard to establish a good reputation, and all of my customers like my work and refer me freely.

I started in, and concentrate on, residential accounts, but I have started bidding a few commercials lately..but I must share with you the "true" scrub I saaw yesterday.

I have seen him at two of the local shopping centers this past week. He drives on OLD Chysler four door car with a 4 x 6 trailer. On this trailer is an MTD style mower with no hood, and duct tape all over it. He was carrying an old WeedEater brand trimmer and finishing up. He was old, and scruffy, and I thought "What a bad image for the customers." It seems to me that businesses would want someone professional outside the storefront doing work.

I guess it goes to show that money is the bottom line sometimes.

After I thought about it, I figured there is no way he is losing money. That mower had to be paid for and the weedeater was $69 tops....

How can I compete with that?

ps. While getting gas today, I noticed the guy doing the bank next door was working out of the back of a U-Haul. OMG!! LOL!!!

2. Expert Lawns

Expert Lawns LawnSite Silver Member