? about standers and surfers

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Watkinslawnservice, May 28, 2005.

1. Watkinslawnservice

Watkinslawnservice LawnSite Senior Member

Doesn't anyone else in the world make a commercial stand-on mower besides Wright, and Dane/Deere?
  2. txlawnking

txlawnking LawnSite Bronze Member

Nobody. Except some mower I saw once online somewhere called a "Convertible".. It looked like a WB that you could swing the controls over and operate as a "stander".. But It really looked like It wasn't too well engineered/built.. I think It was called a Rich? Or something like that.

I wish more manufacturers would step up and build stand on machines, as I'm sure competetion would improve the design..

I've had a design for a Stand-up machine in my head for quite a while that would be able to pass through a 32" gate, cut at 52", and have large tires and lots of HP.. But It will likely stay in my head as I'm not an engineer, and I'm neither motivated, nor equipped to build a prototype with my own resources/$$$..
  3. paponte

paponte LawnSite Silver Member

John deere makes a stand up model also. Stop playing around and step up to the plate and buy a Stander. :)
  4. Itsgottobegreen

Itsgottobegreen LawnSite Silver Member

I like your thinking. I will never own anything other that the wright stander. Mine have been to hell and back. :D
  5. Watkinslawnservice

I may demo a Wright but the biggest problem for me is that it appears that the nearest Wright dealer is almost 40 miles away and I have a John Deere dealer right around the corner.
  6. extoro

extoro LawnSite Member

Dixie Chopper just came out with one. It is UGLY. There was a post on here about it not too long ago
  7. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic