1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community on the Franchising Forum.

Dismiss Notice

Absurd price?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by fyshstykr, Oct 27, 2006.

1. fyshstykr

fyshstykr LawnSite Member
    from zone 99

Take a look at this property.

This guy called and wanted a bid for a one time mow/fall clean up for his rental property. He was a new customer, I went the day he called to look at it and called him while I was still there - could have done it then.

This is my first year in business, I figured it was going to take the 2 of us about 4 hours, plus a haul and dump fee. I was going to provide complete mow, trimming, rose bushes trimmed, grass cleaned out of chain link fencing and picked up and hauled away. So based on $30 per man hour, I bid this at $225.

The guy told me that price was absurd, he would never pay that and hung up on me. (If he thought I was overpriced, he should have just stated that, hanging up was not necessary - unprofessional business exchange in my opinion.) So over a week later, it's still not cleaned up, I felt good about my bid, maybe even under bid it a bit. Seeing that it's still not done.....obviously he can't find anyone else to give him any bid that's not "absurd." :confused:

What's your opinion? Was $225 in line or was it low? Just trying to learn from my experience, I can't give my services away, but I want to stay in business, too.

Thanks in advance for your feedback,
    fysh

2. JRSlawn

JRSlawn LawnSite Senior Member

I think your price was right on if not a little cheap. This guy is probably looking for a highscholl kid to come in and do the work for $25.00. Oh well you win some and you lose some. Good Luck

3. lawnguyland

lawnguyland LawnSite Bronze Member

I think that house is worth $225