Accredited Programs in Landscape Architecture

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by ztrguy, Sep 1, 2006.

1. ztrguy

ztrguy LawnSite Senior Member
    from NE FL

Anyone go to an accredited landscape architecture school? Where did you go? How long did it take to complete the degree? Any thoughts on the program? Thanks!

2. LindblomRJ

LindblomRJ LawnSite Silver Member

It seems every state university and community collage has some sort of landscape or horticulture program. I have been thinking about something along those lines, would be a non traditional student. However it would require a move. I really don't want to leave the area, wife has a good job and I am getting the house the way I like it.

3. Pavers Plus

Pavers Plus LawnSite Member

attended West Virginia University and got my Bachelor of Science in L.A. I am now a licensed landscape architect in Maryland & Virginia.

Think long and hard about what you want your career to be, whether doing mostly design work or design/build. I've found that you are probably better off at a school with a horticulture/landscape design program than a traditional landscape architecture school if you want to persue a landscape/hardscape design build career. If you enjoy sitting at a desk all day doing design and cadd work, then get your landscape arch. degree.

By the way, watch my Mountaineers win the National Championship this year in football.....:drinkup:

4. AGLA

AGLA LawnSite Bronze Member

http://www.asla.org/nonmembers/accredited_programs.cfm

You don't have to spend your life chained to a desk, if you have an LA degree. But, a lot of people do.

I agree that if you want to be a hands on landscaper, it is not the best avenue to take.