Accurate spray pattern

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by DA Quality Lawn & YS, Jan 6, 2009.

1. DA Quality Lawn & YS

DA Quality Lawn & YS LawnSite Fanatic

Elementary question - but I am a rookie at the application side of things so I am asking...

How do you guys 'see' where you have already applied herbicide (like 3 way) when spraying a lawn? I see Trugreen with their trucks and hoses and it looks like they are just randomly covering the lawn. I want more accuracy than that. Is there an organic 'tint' or something like that so you can see where in the heck you have already covered? Just curious.

2. americanlawn

americanlawn LawnSite Fanatic
    from midwest

Several things...1) often you can see where the grass is wet from your previous pass, 2) always overlap, 3) follow mowing patterns to see where you're at, or 4) look for your previous footprints, or 5) use "landmarks" like a tree, a fencepost, a dog turd, whatever -- in order to walk/spray in a straight line.

It's just like spray painting a car or anything else .......even coverage, but not too much.

Initial spray training: 1) String toilet paper along shrubs to see if you're getting overspray (it will show up quickly). 2) Put an aluminum can (Miller Lite works best:laugh:) on the lawn in front of you. Your spray should hit the can at least 3 times for good weed coverage. 3) Finally, the old "spray-on-the-concrete" is a no brainer.

It may look like TruGreen is just randomly spraying, but this can be deceiving.

My short answer. I know others have more advice. :usflag: Probably better than mine.

How do you guys 'see' where you have already applied herbicide (like 3 way) when spraying a lawn? I see Trugreen with their trucks and hoses and it looks like they are just randomly covering the lawn. I want more accuracy than that. Is there an organic 'tint' or something like that so you can see where in the heck you have already covered? Just curious.[/QUOTE]