Acquired Accounts, need assistance on the transfer

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Envision, Jan 19, 2003.

1. Envision

Envision LawnSite Member

I'm just starting out and would like to thank everyone for the quality posts I have seen over the past 6 months, it has been a great help to get my business off the ground.

I have acquired the names and numbers of 10 accounts and would like to know how you seasoned veterans handle this type of acquisition. Do you simply call them, introduce yourself, explain that you are taking over the account and would like to continue to service them? I assume I would make an appointment with them to look over their property, discuss the cost and then go from there. I want to make sure I keep these people as clients and not have them go elsewhere for service, at least if the price is right and the property is worthwhile.

The individual I received these from is getting out of the business and was nice enough to give them to me.

Any help is appreciated!!!

2. green boy

green boy LawnSite Member
    from texas

I wished I could get someone to give me the chance at 10 more properties. You have several different things that you can do. Call them like you said, seems a little impersonal. You could go by there yourself and introduce yourself, which would give the coustomer a chance to meet you because thats how most accounts are started. Or you could send them some info. in the mail which would explain all of your services to them.
    I think that talking to them would be your best bet tho. Good luck to ya which ever way you go.

3. danp

danp LawnSite Member

Envision,

I think your best route would be to ask the original service provider to make the intro to the property owner. If he is willing, this approach would allow a better transition.

D

4. Tim Canavan

Tim Canavan LawnSite Member
    from Houston