1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

additional charges for service??

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by rainsofthouston, Aug 8, 2006.

1. rainsofthouston

rainsofthouston LawnSite Member

i'm relatively new in this business. i've got about 6 yards right now and i'm looking to expand, but i'd like to throw this question out there first. is it customary to charge additional fees for other services? (ie. topping shrubs, cutting down dead limbs, vine removal and such.) i don't mean felling and hauling off a tree or something like that, just minute things that don't take too much extra time. i mean is that just part of the regular service or should i be entitled to other fees? any advice would be appreciated.
  2. 1MajorTom

1MajorTom Senior Moderator

Yep, anything above and beyond grass cutting is entitled to extra fees. (even if it's something like picking up branches that fell off a tree after a bad storm). If it's costing you time, then it should cost the customer. And also remember, when you have to haul off debris, make sure you make it worth your while, because it's a pain to have to dispose of debris.
  3. FLAhaulboy

FLAhaulboy LawnSite Senior Member

minutes turn into hours into days.
  4. HighGrass

HighGrass LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Z5 MA

By all means! Everything is extra unless you account for it in their weekly/monthly price. That's like the guy that does your tires. You ask him if he'll change your oil. You can bet he's gonna charge you for the extra service right? The you should too! Your time, your dime.
  5. MDLawnman

MDLawnman LawnSite Member